Dropshare User Guide

Search for answers to your questions by entering keywords below, or look through our knowledge base.

How to set up automatic screenshot uploads

Dropshare 3.5 and newer

Since Dropshare 3.5, there is no longer the need to set up a special screenshot directory on your Mac.

To set up automatic screenshot uploads, open the Preferences and select the Screenshots tab. You can set up keyboard shortcuts for either full screen screenshots, selection-based screenshots (this works exactly like the native Mac OS X screenshot tool ⌘+⇧+3 or ⌘+⇧+4) or screenshots which you can annotate and edit prior uploading. Screenshots taken with the Dropshare keyboard shortcuts will be uploaded with the currently active connection.

Dropshare 3.4 and earlier

Taking screenshots

Screenshots in Mac OS X are usually taken with a keyboard combination. The default keyboard combination is ⌘+⇧+3 for a full-screen and ⌘+⇧+4 for a part-screen capture. Dropshare for Mac itself does not offer a screenshot functionality, but relies on the system built-in technology (Read more).

Automatically upload screenshots

To automatically upload screenshots with Dropshare for Mac, open the Preferences and select the Screenshots tab.

Set the tick mark for "Upload my screenshots [X] automatically from..." and select the location where Mac OS X saves your screenshots. This is usually your Desktop folder. However, if you changed that location in the Mac OS X preferences, please select the appropriate folder here.

Clean-up after upload

Dropshare for Mac optionally cleans up after itself, meaning it deletes the local screenshot file to save space on your disk. Set the tick mark for "When successful please [X] delete the local screenshot file" if you want to enable this feature.

Troubleshooting

In case Dropshare for Mac stops uploading screenshots automatically from one day to the next, it might help to un-tick and then re-tick the first checkbox.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful

Powered by Zendesk